Prizes awarded at the Carl Nielsen International Competition 2022 | News

The winners of the Carl Nielsen International Competition were announced last night in Odense, with a surprise joint first prize for the violin discipline.

Hans Christian Aavik and Bohdan Luts both received first prize from the violin jury, chaired by Noah Bendix-Balgley. Although the price has not yet been decided, the two will have the opportunity to record an album with Orchid Classics, to perform solo with Nordic orchestras and to receive a bow from the manufacturer Duncan Emck, donated by Ulf Eriksson. Violin.

Third prize went to Eun Che Kim, who received €7,500. Aavik also won the prize for best interpretation of the contemporary piece. Labyrinth for Solo Violin, written by Jesper Koch, as well as the Odense Symphony Orchestra Prize, both worth €1000. Luts received the Young Jury Prize of €1000.

The awards were presented shortly after the violin finals held earlier in the day, where each finalist performed Nielsen’s Violin Concerto with the Odense Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Daniela Musca.

President of the competition and winner of the International Carl Nielsen Competition in 1992, violinist Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider said: “This competition exceeded all of our expectations in many ways. First and foremost for the fact that we have four outstanding first prize winners of exceptional musicianship and individuality, and for the overall high level of musical creation that we heard from the many attendees of the course of the last ten days.

Emphasizing the importance of Espansiva! – the professional development and mentoring program that ran alongside the competition for the candidates, he said, “Equally important was the extraordinary sense of ‘oneness’ that we saw and felt among the contestants – young musicians who showed genuine warmth and support for each other on and off stage.

“Carl Nielsen’s values ​​of excellence, curiosity, individuality and community are the very essence of what we strive to achieve in this competition and it is clear that Odense is creating this special environment for young musicians flourish. We wish each participant the best for the future.

Aavik, a 23-year-old Estonian violinist, studied at Tallinn Music High School, Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts under Erik Schumann and Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität der Stadt Wien where he studies with Julian Raclin. He performed as a soloist with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra and the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra and the Jyväskylä Sinfonia and released his first CD in 2021 on Pilw Records.

The 17-year-old Ukrainian violinist Luts studied at the Krushelnytska Music School in Lviv, the Lyssenko Music School in Kyiv and the Menuhin International Academy of Music. His teachers included Oleg Kaskiv, Renaud Capuçon, Olga Korinets, Yaroslava Kataryna and Maria Futorska. He has performed with the Lviv National Symphony Orchestra and the INSO Orchestra and has participated in the Gstaad Menuhin Festival and the Bellerive Music Festival as well as recitals in Ukraine, Switzerland and Italy.

0410 Winners Morten Kjaergaard

The 2022 violin jury was made up of Noah Bendix-Balgley, Eugen Tichindeleanu, Albena Danailova, Tasmin Little, Judith Van Eeckhout, Mark Williams and Baiba Skride.

The clarinet discipline was won by 27-year-old Oleg Shebeta-Dragan, who also won the Odense Symphony Orchestra Prize and the Young Jury Prize. Second prize went to Anne Lepage, while Panagiotis Giannakas won third prize.

The 24-year-old flautist Alberto Navarra won first prize in the flute discipline. Seoyeon Kim, 20, won the second prize, as well as the Odense Symphony Orchestra and the Young Jury awards. Third prize went to Alberto Acuna Almela.

About Brandy Perry

Check Also

The coffee season should open on Sunday | New

WALTON — The Whispering Tree, a duo, will open Music on the Delaware’s 2022-23 Coffeehouse …